Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi
Communities
Schools

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:


Breadcrumbs:

Creating kete and preset homepages

Creating personal kete | Creating preset homepages | Sharing preset homepages | FAQ

Registered TKI users now have the ability to create their own personal kete, save multiple preset homepages, and share preset homepages with others. (What are kete and preset homepages?)

To use the features described in this section you need to be logged in.

Creating your own personal kete

You need javascript enabled to view this content.

To create your own personal kete, enter the Select kete menu, and click the Create button (under My kete). Select the type of personal kete you wish to create from the three options.

General kete contain content like notes or links. RSS kete display the output of an external RSS news feed, and video kete allow you to embed content from video sharing sites.

Choose the type of kete you wish to create, name the kete, and enter your content before clicking Save.

Get answers to common questions.

Back to top

Creating your own preset homepages

You need javascript enabled to view this content.

To create your own preset homepages, you have two options:

  • If you have an arrangement of kete on your homepage that you would like to save as a new preset homepage, simply click Save Homepage, enter a title for your new preset homepage, and Save.
  • If you want to create a new preset homepage from scratch, you can enter the Choose a preset homepage menu, and click Create under My preset homepages. This allows you to create an entirely new preset homepage by entering a name and selecting your desired kete. You can then save the preset homepage for use later, or save and apply it immediately to your homepage.

Get answers to common questions.

Back to top

Sharing your preset homepages with others

You need javascript enabled to view this content.

To share with others, enter the Choose a preset homepage menu, and click Manage under My preset homepages. You will see a list of preset homepages that you have created, each with a list of associated options.

Click Share from this list and enter the email addresses of anyone who you would like to receive your shared preset homepage. You can also add a personal message to the email that they will receive. When you are ready, click Send.

Sharing a preset homepage will give it a unique ‘Shared homepage ID’, which can be entered on the TKI homepage in the 'Shared homepage ID' field. Select 'Go' to use the shared preset homepage.

Back to top

Frequently asked questions

What is an RSS kete?

An RSS kete displays content from an external site’s RSS feed. RSS (Real Simple Syndication) alerts you to new content on a site like news or updates, or activity on a web service like new comments, without you having to visit the site.

Back to top

How does a video kete work?

TKI video kete allow you to ‘embed’ video from YouTube. To embed a video in a kete, simply paste in its embed code - to get this you can usually just click the Embed button below the video on its YouTube page.

Back to top

How do I load my own videos on to a video kete?

TKI video kete can only contain videos hosted on external video sharing sites, like YouTube.com. To include your own video within a TKI video kete, you can simply upload the video to such a site, and then paste the video’s embed code in to your kete.

Back to top

How do I delete a kete?

Kete can be deleted from the Kete tab, under Settings. Click Settings at the top left of the page, and choose the Kete tab. In this menu you have a number of options, including a Delete link for any personal kete you have created.

Kete deletion can be scheduled – this allows you to set personal kete to automatically ‘expire’ a number of days in the future.

You can only delete kete that you created yourself.

Back to top

Can I edit kete that I didn’t create?

No. You can only edit (and delete) your own personal kete.

Back to top

Does someone need a TKI account to view my shared preset?

No. Anyone can view a shared preset by visiting the TKI homepage and pasting in a valid ‘Shared homepage ID’ and clicking Go. However, only registered and logged in users can save the shared homepage permanently in their list of preset homepages.

Back to top

Are shared presets private?

No. Once a preset has been shared it is available to anyhow who knows its ‘Shared Homepage ID’.

Back to top

I’ve changed my mind about sharing a preset homepage; how do I unshare it?

To unshare a preset homepage, enter the Choose a preset homepage menu, and click Manage under My preset homepages. You will see a list of preset homepages that you have created, each with a list of associated options.

Shared preset homepages will feature an Unshare link. Select Unshare and confirm to take away access to your shared homepage from other users.

Unsharing can be scheduled – this allows you to set shared preset homepages to automatically ‘expire’ a number of days in the future.

Back to top


Footer: